top of page

Sprouting is for the Birds, Or is it?


I am often asked, what type of treats I give my birds. My birds might be a little spoiled. In addition to scrambled eggs, home grown meal worms occasionally, my birds also get a wide variety of Leafy dark Green Vegetables chopped up as part of their morning Salad. But the one thing they really love is the sprouts we grow in our Kitchen window.

Sprouts are really easy to grow. Sprouting is a great way to grow our own feed. Plus they can be grown in a small area without the need for a garden.

So this blog entry is about how to grow your own sprouts. Once you get your sprouting supplies together you will be ready to go from seed to feed in five days.

Supplies you will need:

Sprouting Seeds

(You can buy these online or at your local health food store)

Sprouting Jars

(These can also be bought in the same places you will find your seeds or you can make you own)

Water

Sunny window

(Only required to green up your sprouts)

Ready Set Now Get Sprouting:

Day 1

Soak you seeds in water for 12-24 hours.

Day 2 - 4

Rinse and drain you seeds twice a day

Day 5

Feed your seeds to your birds or enjoy them yourself.

It really is that easy. I keep 5 jars going at a time so I can feed and enjoy sprouts daily. California is in a severe drought. In an effort to use and waste as little water as possible, I use the rinse water from one jar to pour into the next jar as a rinse. Then the final rinse water is dumped into a potted plant.

As I mentioned our birds love their sprouts, but so does my family. They are great in Salads, Sandwiches, and (my favorite) Burgers.

Hope you enjoy and Happy Sprouting!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page